Confessions From The Last Great Era Of Hollywood

Before social media, reality TV, cell phone cameras, and bottle service, Los Angeles was one girl’s paradise…

Valerie Michaels
10 min readMay 8, 2021
Author and Vinnie Chase, circa 2006

My nephew, Cal, is currently in Los Angeles as a WGA writer, SAG actor, and bonafide multi-hyphenate and yet he still regularly laments that he could experience Hollywood the way I did, in the 90’s and 2000’s. He moved to LA as a bright, young upstart and landed on my Malibu couch just in time for one of my beach house summers. That was the year that Adrian Grenier from Entourage was my roomie and I hooked Cal up as his in-house Hollywood Hills bartender, even though he didn’t know how to make a drink. He still gets a far away look in his eye when he mentions how being tipped with women’s bras was better than any money he actually made on the job. Those definitely were the days and I would have never had the success in my future career had I not experienced them and made the friends I still have now. Here’s some reasons why…

  1. Polaroids
Author and Pete Berg circa 1995

Ahhhh, the Formosa Cafe. Across the street from Jones. Late nights in LA were never as good as NYC because everything “closed” at 2…

--

--

Valerie Michaels

Media entrepreneur and documentary film producer. I write a lot about the past and random stuff I find interesting. Instagram: @mizzzmichaels